Dressing the Shelf

I used to be an avid reader, then a time passed whilst I was 13 to 17 when I let it slide. I didn’t read much, other than I was assigned to read at school, Of Mice and Men, that AQA poetry anthology, a whole lot of history texts – but nothing of my own accord.

When I was 13, I had almost all of the Princess Diaries collection – up to number 9 as far as I remember. I read a whole lot of Sheltie the Shetland Pony – there was a lot of those! And my favourite, the whole of the Dolphin Diaries and Animal Ark.

Then I turned 17 and I don’t remember what got me back into reading but I’m so thankful it happened. For me, it is the best kind of escapism, leaving this world behind and falling right into another one. So, back into the reading I fell, happily, like welcoming back an old friend. And with it, the dawning of my book collection.

Admittedly, compared to the many #shelfie snaps I’ve drooled over on Instagram, mine is very tame, but one day my books will over flow and I will need another shelf and another. But so far I have one, and I built it all by myself. Okay, I assembled it all by myself. Thanks, Ikea.
I used to keep all my books on my window ledge in my bedroom back home ; not wise I know, now they’re yellowed. But then I moved out, and my books had now home, for awhile they were in the side cabinet in the living room, however they started over-filling so off me and my boyfriend went to trusty ole Ikea! I know many a person with a ‘Billy’ bookcase and I have joined their ranks.

In traditional fashion, it rained and we tried to fit this big ole box of unassembled wood into a Ford Fiesta – it was only a slight struggle…
We got home, and I got right down to it. This was my project and I was so excited to put it all together. The instructions as I’m sure you all know, are just pictures guiding you what to do. So I got our little toolbox and went right at it. It was quite simple (thankfully), and I only needed helping lifting the finished product.
dts2
The most fun part of this whole process – putting everything on the shelf. Piles of books ready to be organised and stacked. It was so difficult to decide in what order to put them all in, so many options. I had to sort them all into their different series/trilogies etc, then to decide where each and every one must go.
I decided the top shelf would be the more adult books I own – ‘serious’ fiction. The Shakespeare, Dickens, Bronte. Also, the more modern; Steinbeck, King, Orwell.

The next shelf would be my favourite fantasy collection; Game Of Thrones and Lord Of The Rings, with my related Jon Snow figure.
Below, the next two shelves would be my many young adult fiction in a assortment of genres. Harry Potter being the main feature on these shelves; stacked high. Also featured we have the highly raved Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard (I’ve not long finished Glass Sword and oh wow! I cannot wait for the next one all over again). There is also The Lunar Chronicles and The Mortal Instruments, Throne of Glass and many of John Green.
Underneath that, we have the one offs, the more inspiring, and the more hard hitting; Rainbow Rowell, Wonder. And lastly, the few that I may or may not donate forward, but everything needs a home!

The last touch was all the decorations, my Jon Snow Pop Vinyl, my Cinderella’s Castle snow globe, photo frames, flower pot, the typical decor, but it makes it so much more you. It’s you personified in a bookcase, so many of your different loves all in one place. It brings me a little bit of joy just to look at it.
dts3
I will post updates of my shelf as it gets fuller and more decorated, please shares you stories and picture with me as I love looking at a good #shelfie.

Leave a Reply

