Trash TV – why I can’t stop watching

I have a confession. I have an obsession. It’s called trash TV, and I just can’t stop. I am aware of how bad the show is that I’m watching but I can’t stop watching. I can’t look away, and when I finish one, I have to start another. I will intersperse these with ‘high-calibre’ show, those that are highly rated and not looked down upon (which is silly cause none of it is ‘real’ anyway…)

I, born in 1992, grew up surrounded by supposed ‘trash American television’. By the time I was a teenager I was absolutely hooked on One Tree Hill. Peyton Sawyer was everything; the red bedroom, the record collection and eventual label, the fashion, the attitude. Everything I wanted to be summarised in one perfectly imperfect character. I was hooked from the first episode, way back when in 2003, and it definitely kickstarted my love for ‘trash tv’.
psawyerFrom One Tree Hill it jumped straight to the opposite coast to The O.C – which I did start after everyone else, due to both the recommendation of peers and simply because I love One Tree Hill so much. And I’ve jumped around various shows throughout the last thirteen years; from Gossip Girl to The Vampire Diaries, Pretty Little Liars to the recent-ish 90210 reboot, Gilmore Girls to Friday Night Lights (except FNL is not trash, I’ll fight you). Although, this is not to say I’ve completed all of them Pretty Little Liars’ seventh season has just started, I only finished Gossip Girl last year despite the fact I originally started watching it when it first aired. I gave up around series 5 or 6 of The Vampire Diaries; the characters never stayed dead, the plots got more and more outlandish – that even on a show about vampires, the storylines were just completely and utterly unbelievable.
tvdAs much as I branch out into other realms of television; Game Of Thrones is one of my absolute all-time favourites, Daredevil and Jessica Jones of the Marvel/Netflix alliance, both incredibly strong shows, I always find myself drawn back to the classic america teen drama series – whether that be due to the unrealistic, dream crushing romantic scenarios, the unattainable wardrobes, or the sometime ludicrous plot, I don’t see myself leaving it behind in the near future. I grew up with this kind of television, I enjoy it and it helps me de-stress and escape reality for a few hours.

And I’m not ashamed or embarrassed of my love for them either. I will yell at you how much I love One Tree Hill (seriously, my friends hate me sometimes).

 

One thought on “Trash TV – why I can’t stop watching

Leave a Reply

