Bookish Friday favourites #1

This is a new weekly post where I post my favourites of the book world, such as; female characters, male characters, worlds, covers etc etc. I have seen many, many a post that has inspired me to share my favourites with you. We all get so passionate about our faves, I adore reading that passion, it comes from a personal place that we all can relate too.

So the theme for this weeks Bookish Favourites; Favourite Females. There’s nothing I adore more in a book then a strong female lead. Females that can kick butt – physically, mentally, with a strong eyeliner game, in anyway they can.

P.S Spoiler warning!!

wp-1467658791070.jpg

1 . Celaena Sardothien / Aelin Galathynius

If you haven’t read the Throne Of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas, first of all, open Amazon instead of this page, order it, and revel in it. Then, come back and join in my love of the main character, the anti-heroine turned full on Queen (literally) Aelin. She literally, in all sense of the word can kick ass. She’s wonderfully witty, she had me captured in the first two chapters. Her quick words and quicker feet making her an incredible adversary for anyone. As you read through the series, the revelations and history that compose who Celaena is truly have you rooting for her to survive.

“She was fire, and light, and ash and embers. She was Aelin Fireheart, and she bowed for no-one and nothing, save the crown that was hers by blood and survival and triumph.”

2. Elizabeth Bennett

As the main character of the classic Pride & Prejudice, book-lover or not, chances are you’ve heard of Elizabeth Bennett. She is the absolute queen of sassy independent women who will do anything for their family. She is ferocious and fierce and she is a dream. She is an avid reader, an do-it yourself-er. A heroine in a time where women were meant to be on the sidelines; just pretty pictures. She did not. She would not. She was, is, everything.

“There is a stubbornness about that never can bear to be frightened at the will of others. My courage always rises at every attempt to intimidate me.”

2. Cath(er) Avery

I don’t know a person to not have enjoyed, thoroughly, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Cath Avery is the lead character and perhaps, one of the most relateable lead female characters I have come across. She is nervous and shy without being horribly cliché. The relationships she has with her twin, with Reagan and with Levi are all so real. Cath is believable. I recommended this book to my friend and she saw so much of herself in Cath, because of how written she really is.

“I’m scared of everything. And I’m crazy. Like, maybe you think i’m a little crazy, but I only let people see the tip of my crazy iceberg. Underneath this veneer of slightly crazy and socially inept, I’m a complete disaster.”

4 . Ginny Weasley

Ignore the film, the films completely underplayed the magnificence of Ginevra Weasley. She was a wonderfully developed character throughout the entire Harry Potter series, she was carefully mentioned, gradually brought into the series as a powerful witch, never underestimated or intimidated by her six older brothers. Honestly, I saw a lot of myself in Ginny; and I am still, all these years later, sad at how little they gave her in the movies.

“Nothing’s impossible if you’ve got enough nerve.”

5 . Inej Ghafa

Six Of Crows quickly rocketed to one of my favourite books after reading it earlier this year. There are many reasons why I love this book so much; but one very astronomical reason, is Inej. She is genuinely a little gem of a character in a book dominated by strong personalities. A swift spy who’s deadly with knives, Inej is a complex character in a gang filled with many a shade of grey.

“Besides, she was the Wraith – the only law that applied to her was gravity, and some days she defied that, too.”

wp-1467658782417.jpg

What are your favourite bookish females? What do you think about mine! Let me know and keep an eye out every Friday for the next posts 🙂

One thought on “Bookish Friday favourites #1

Leave a Reply

