Bookish Friday favourites #2

Friday favourites is back! After an unintentional hiatus, due to work and life and the usual sort. So if you need a refresh, you can find the first Friday favourites here, where I talk about my favourite fictional females.

This time I am telling you about my favourite fictional cities/towns/villages/places of commune. All five of my favourites all stem from fantasy realms – who wants to visit somewhere in the real world? Whisk me far away please. To a world unlike any other.
My top five picks come from five books that I adore – these cities/villages all a small yet vital reason why I love these books. Books that can transport you to somewhere else entirely.

P.S Spoiler warning!!

wp-1471532644940.jpg

1 . Velaris

The newest entry on my list, but one I’d love to visit nonetheless, from A Court Of Mist and Fury – the revered and much-loved sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses.
Velaris, also known as The City of Starlight is a secret city in The Night Court. Hidden from Amarantha by Rhysand at a great personal cost – Velaris is known to be beautiful, untouched by the ravages of the rest of the land. If an alternative name for a place is The City of Starlight, I can only imagine how divine it may be.

2 . Hogsmede

I feel like I don’t have to explain this one – the only all magical commune in England! From the world of Harry Potter, Hogsmede is set just outside of the grounds of Hogwarts. Featuring Honeydukes, Zonko’s, finishing off your shopping with a delicious Butterbeer from The Three Broomsticks. Honestly, I was lucky enough to get to go to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Florida last year, and it was, emotional, I nearly cried. It was, pun intended, bloody magical.

3. Artemisia

A city on the moon, on the moon!! Set in the murky universe of sci-fi, fantasy and fairytale, The Lunar Chronicles are four books about four, very different, but incredible heroines. Artemisia is the capital city of the moon dwellers, the Lunars. Glistening whites and constant grandeur, it is meant to look picturesque and I’m sure a view unlike any other. And it’s on the moon!!

4 . The Shire

It was very hard for me to not populate this list entirely with places from The Lord of the Rings trilogy / The Hobbit, yet I restrained myself and limited myself to just two.
The first of the two is the first place we come across, the calm, the country, the Shire. It’s idyllic picturesque rolling hills, with Hobbit-holes set in.
One day, we’ll save enough to visit New Zealand, I know it’s high on my boyfriends bucket list as well as mine.

5. Lothlorien

Lastly, but not by any means least, the mystical, ethereal wood of Lothlorien. Also from the realms of Middle-Earth, of Lord Of The Rings also. Living amongst glittering treetops, with the sunlight glistening in and the moonlight casting glorious light. Lothlorien the home of Galadriel is meant to be as stunning as the aforementioned Lady of the Wood.
wp-1471532648492.jpg
There it is! My top five fictional cities/villages/places of commune, all set in fantasy novels. Which places would you most like to visit?!

Leave a Reply

