Bookish Friday favourites #3

Here we go again – and yet again another monthly gap, so maybe this is a monthly thing now. Completely intentional. Completely. Many a blog do posts similar, where I post my top five favourites of a theme, from books!

So this round goes to  favourites males, as I’ve covered females already, I guess I should do the men! Fictional male characters can either be completely swoon-worthy and therefore make any real-life men pale in comparison. Or they make you want to throttle them – Homer Simpson style.
Unsurprisingly, no annoying men here. Unless you dislike them and then in which case, opinion is everything! I love that we all have a difference of opinion.

Let’s get down to it, and as ever – spoilers forthwith!

wp-1474040112900.jpg

1 . Rhysand

If you haven’t yet read either A Court of Thorns and Roses, and especially; A Court of Mist and fury, I implore you go ahead and do just that. I enjoyed Rhys’ appearances in ACOTAR, he was a suave, arrogant prick, and that is exactly what was so enjoyable about it. But, if you haven’t heard from the many rave reviews of ACOMAF – the development, the exploration, the history. The High Lord of the Night Court is the absolute sacrifice – the hero shrouded in darkness. 

“There was nothing but uncompromising will in his eyes. ‘Then I would have torn apart the world to get you back.'”

2. Samwise Gamgee

Quite simply if you don’t realise that Samwise Gamgee was the true hero of LOTR, have we read the same books?! Never failing, never faltering, forever loyal. I adore Samwise Gamgee to the far reaches of Middle-Earth. Frodo would not have made it to Mordor without Samwise and the whole realm would’ve eventually fallen – just saying. 

“Come, Mr. Frodo!’ he cried. ‘I can’t carry it for you, but I can carry you and it as well. So up you get! Come on, Mr. Frodo dear! Sam will give you a ride. Just tell him where to go, and he’ll go”

3. Ronald Weasley

The Weasley’s are my favourite fictional family ever. It was really hard to decide between the Weasleys, let alone everyone one else in the Harry Potter-verse. I chose Ron as he’s a quiet steel. Always in the shadow, never in the sun. But always there, he may not be the smartest, the bravest, the most skilled. But he will go with you regardless. He also has heis faults, and his flaws and I love that about him. I love that we grew with him. Weasley is our king!

“He must have known I’d want to leave you.”
“No, he must have known you would always want to come back.”

wp-1474040109089.jpg

4. Johnny Cade

Honestly, The Outsiders is wonderful read – I don’t often pop out of the fantasy-esque realm, but I am so, so glad I read this book. And Johnny Cade broke my heart. The dynamic between this group of boys is so intriguing and all of their love and care that goes toward Johnny is so encapsulating. His back story, his manner, his personality. I honestly just wanted to be his friend.

“Stay gold, Ponyboy.”

5. August ‘Auggie’ Pullman

Picking a fifth was hard, it did immediately come to me, through the many, many books I’ve read – there apparently have not been that many standout male characters apparently. None that truly stick with me. Whereas I’m usually struggling to narrow the list down! But after glancing at my bookshelf, I wanted to whack myself in the head.  
There is something about Wonder that stuck with me for the longest time after reading it – the journey of Auggie is truly a lesson for everyone, especially the target audience it’s aimed for about appearances and acceptance. 

“Now that I look back, I don’t know why I was so stressed about it all this time. Funny how sometimes you worry a lot about something and it turns out to be nothing.”

There are my top five bookish males? Do you agree or disgree – is there someone that you would’ve put in instead? Let me know! 

 

2 thoughts on “Bookish Friday favourites #3

  1. Ron has not been my favorite character for a long time, and I was struggling to find a reason why. I have to say that what you had to say about him really made me think, and I have to agree with you. We are always used to perfect characters in the novels we read, and I think Ron is one of the most human of them all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

