The Bedtime Book Tag!

As I was perusing through blog posts for the day, I found this book tag over on ThriceRead; The Bedtime Book Tag, originally created by Kelly’s Bookspill, over on YouTube.
Having never done a book tag before, I jumped at the opportunity as this one was one I was thinking of my own answers as I read there, and I do love reading before bed. Right up my street.

What book kept you up all night reading?

So many books! I’m going to the one that started it all; every new Harry Potter release. Off my Dad would go to the local supermarket at midnight and return with my brand new Harry Potter book (poor man only suffered this only three times, as Goblet Of Fire was when I truly, truly realised) and I’d read until 3/4 in the morning, until my Mum came in and give me that look – the one that means I’ve truly pushed it and I have to go to sleep now.

What book made you scared to go to sleep?

I don’t read that many scary books truth be told, horror fiction has never been my thing. That being said, the one that truly sticks out to me is  1984 by George Orwell. Big Brother was watching me and he knew, he knew I hated him and I was ridiculously paranoid. There is something so eerie about being under surveillance 24/7 – especially in such a manner that they are in the novel. Not for me, thank you!

What book almost put you to sleep?

The 100 Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out a Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson, I did not get on with this book. There are so few books that make my did not finish pile, and this was the most recent addition. I was just so bored, sorry.

What book has you tossing and turning, in anticipation of its release?

CROOKED KINGDOM. Please be mine, Six of Crows was so wonderful and the ending has left me on tenterhooks for months. MONTHS. I have not been this excited for a book since Empire of Storms…  I just love YA fantasy books okay?!

What book has your dream boyfriend / girlfriend?

Oh this a tough one. There are so many dreamy book boyfriends that it’s unfair to pick just one! I must say Levi from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell has always struck a shord with me because he’s so.. human. It’s refreshing to have a character be so real – he has his flaws and his quirks and they’re explored throughout the book. He’s attainable – you can find this guy in the real world. And who doesn’t want a real life book boyfriend?!

What book world would be your nightmare to live in?

I’m lazy. I’m unfit. I have no kind of discernible talent; so most of the book worlds I live in, in my head, I would last the whole of 1 hour in.
Panem in The Hunger Games trilogy; if I were reaped? Definitely dead.
All of Erilea in the Throne of Glass series; I would’ve died at so many points.
Prythian in A Court of Thorns and Roses; Amarantha would’ve had me for breakfast.
Conclusion; all of my beautiful, fantasy realms. Because I am not suited for any world that is outside of contemporaries (cue said violin music).

What book has a nightmarish cliffhanger?

Six Of Crows left me reeling, how could you do that to us all?! The cliffhanger on the end of that had me wanting pages to magically appear. It was great ending, don’t get me wrong, but I need to know!
Also looking at you Sarah J. Maas; both A Court Of Mist and Fury and Empire of Storms had unbearable cliffhangers, with their sequels being much further off than Crooked Kingdom. The wait will be horrific.

What book cover reminds you of night-time?

Shiver by Maggie Steifvater. The eerie wood setting, the black and white theme, the feeling of cold and darkness that I personally got from it. It very much gives off night-time vibes, one of the reasons I was drawn to it in the first place.

What book have you actually dreamed about?

Funnily enough, I don’t have many book related dreams. It’s very rare I have dreams at all, I have the one off nightmare that I wake up in tears from and that’s it for months, sometimes years. The only book related dreams I remember having were all Harry Potter related (of course they were) and I remember very much loving life as a witch. If only I actually were.

What book monster would you not want to find under your bed?

So many book monsters, so little space under my bed. I think this would go to any of the Valg from the Throne of Glass series; they do not sound nice to creep up on you in the night. Special mention to the white-walkers from Game of Thrones; I do not want to be forever an icicle.

So there we go! My first tag, and I’m sure I’ll do many more in the process, it’s super fun! Please feel free to do this tag if you want!!

4 thoughts on “The Bedtime Book Tag!

    1. I have actually only read the first one, having dug it out at a charity shop. But it was a good start, a solid 3 1/2 stars I’d say! Definitely good enough to make me want to buy the next book.
      I don’t know how much this helps!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

