The New York Times ‘By The Book’ Tag!

I was happily scrolling through all of your lovely blog posts when I found this tag on Rattle The Stars – initially made by Marie Berg. I thought the questions were great, so I decided as they said to ‘consider yourself tagged’, so here we go!

1. What book is on your nightstand now?

Right now, I just finished Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch – which I absolutely loved and I cannot wait for the last instalment; Frost Like Night. I’ve just started Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman and I’ve heard incredible things!

2. What was the last truly great book you read?

CROOKED KINGDOM. Honestly, this book had the highest of the expectations, and not just from me, from my friend also, and countless book bloggers and bookstagrammers. And it did not disappoint, it was wondrous. I have never loved a set of characters more than I did those 6 from The Barrell. You can read my review of it, which it surprisingly coherent, considering all the emotions I had after I finished, here.

3. If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you ask them?

This is such a difficult one. There are so many writers that I look up too. Jane Austen due to the fact she wrote one of my all-time favourite books; Pride and Prejudice. J.K Rowling for the exact same reason – oh Harry Potter. I think though, truly, I’d like to meet Rainbow Rowell; she writes such relatable, real characters.
I think I’d ask her how she manages to write so real without getting too deep that it becomes hard to progress.

4. What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

Well, I own Red Dragon, Silence of The Lambs and Hannibal – that might surprise some people but they’re truly interesting, if not at times, grotesque, reads. Nothing else could be counted as all that ‘surprising’ I believe.

5. How do you organise your personal library?

I honestly just go with what looks good, and with only one bookshelf that takes a lot of moving around rather frequently! I like to group by order and by rank of adoration. My Harry Potter tower is dead centre for example, with other loved YA reads surrounded him. My ‘adult’ books are on the top shelf, and the ones I like, but by no means love, stay firmly on the bottom shelf.

6. What book have you always meant to read but haven’t gotten around to yet? Anything you feel embarrassed you’ve not read yet?

Well, there are quite a few on my TBR but not even purchased pile, that I’m super mand about every time I think of it; anything by V. E Schwab, The Grisha Trilogy, various works of Austen and Shakespeare.
I can’t say there’s anything I’m embarrassed to not have read yet, nothing that automatically springs to mind anyway!

7. Disappointed, overrated, just not good; what book do you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t? 

There aren’t many books I can wholly say I didn’t like, may be it’s the pessimist in me that doesn’t go into things with the highest of expectations to begin with. I really, really couldn’t get into Tape by Steven Camden – it just grated with me and in the end I gave up. The same for The 100 Year Old Man that Climbed Out Of A Window and Disappeared.. honestly, that was outrageously boring…

8. What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you steer clear of?

Fantasy. Always fantasy. I have a strong sense of escapism, especially within this genre – I love being taken away to worlds time and time again. I don’t think I’ll ever tire of it.
I tend to avoid straight up romance novels – no Nicholas Sparks over here! My Mum adores them but I just find them predictable and boring. Sorry!

9. If you could require the president to read just one book, what would it be?

As an Englishwoman, I don’t get much involved in American politics, I have enough time following our own. Honestly, they could read all the straight up romance novels they wanted as long as they weren’t a complete arse about things (here’s looking at you current UK Prime Minister…).

10. What do you plan to read next?

Next up is Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, then Red Rising by Pierce Brown, by the time I finish with them, I’ll probably have a whole lot of new books as birthday presents so I can’t commit to anything now. (I’ve already found a wrapped pile by my boyfriend and it’s taking every bit of restraint to not tear them open now!)

So, I will not actually tag anyone, as this tag has been around for a while! But, if you’ve not done it yet – like me! – then please do it! I’d love to see your answers.

Leave a Reply

