A Review: Legend – Marie Lu

I’d been meaning to pick up a Marie Lu title for awhile – I’d heard good things about the Legend trilogy and then even better things about The Young Elites and I knew I’d have to find out for myself – what is so wonderful about these books.

So, one afternoon, me and my boyfriend were perusing our local charity shops (okay, I was, he was being dragged along, a feat he’s used to by now), and I’d already picked up The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, therefore any book purchase on these trips means it’s a success. And then I found jackpot – the entire Legend trilogy, in hardback, in a lovely little box-set. All for £4. What a bloody bargain.

Anecdote out of the way; let’s get on to the actual book. Legend is the debut novel by author Marie Lu – set in a Dystopian society where the United States is no more; it is split The Republic vs. The Colonies. We meet both June and Day, our heroes from two different worlds; June; the prodigy, the Republic’s next big thing. Day, the boy from the slums who is the Republic’s most wanted criminal. We follow their stories, as they intertwine and pull our hearts in along with them.

There are no spoilers in this review!

I wouldn’t say that I had a lot of expectation heading into this book, I didn’t really know anything about it at all, just that there was a lot of praise floating around for its author, it was kind of refreshing though, as it mainly meant I couldn’t really be all that disappointed.
However, even I had expectations, I thoroughly believe it would have exceeded them, I was drawn in very quickly and this was down to the author’s differentiating between her main two protagonists viewpoint.
wp-1479646987648.jpg
We are told the story from both June and Day’s perspective and Lu, very subtly, changes her style to suit each character. The book itself is very obvious in character changes; the name is large letters at the top of the page and both the font colour and the font itself changes depending which character you’re reading.
If you’re reading June – you can feel her militia training leaking off the page – the descriptions, the feeling – it’s always conflicted and lacks an emotional edge until she starts to unravel further into the book. If you’re reading Day – the world, despite everything seems a lot sunnier, the flow is more seamless. The further you head into the book and the characters develop you can see their opinions intertwine – and this small detail is a great addition to the book.

I vastly enjoyed the world building that Marie Lu put together here, the idea of the Republic is so terrifying yet so possible – especially with everything that is happening in the world right now. With how divisive the States had become, which cities stood and which belonged to the Colonies and which to the Republic. I truly immersed myself in this world – it felt so real, it was so easy to slide in too.

Overall, I wholly enjoyed this book, and I’m very excited to read the sequels; Prodigy and Champion, Marie Lu has me hooked!
Have you read Legend? What did you think? Or are you a big fan of her later trilogy? Let me know!

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Review: Legend – Marie Lu

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    I haven’t read anything by Marie Lu yet but I actually got out Legend from my library several months back, though I had to return it before I could find the time. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it, though – that reminds me to pick it back up as soon as I can.

    Also SO jealous that you got the entire thing for £4. Bloody bargain indeed. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

