2016: A year in review.

2016 happened, I’m pretty sure most of us while just heave a collective sigh at the mention of it. Generally speaking, 2016 was pretty mediocre, am I right? Bad things seem to happen all of the time and mainstream media became everyone’s worst enemy. Bad news seems to be the only news the media is willing to talk about and good things were just swept underneath all of the crap we’ve had to suffer through.

Personally, 2016 was decent enough. I didn’t complete my reading challenge, although for the first one I ever took part in, maybe 75 was a pretty hefty target. I am proud of the number I did reach, a solid 56, most likely 57 as I am determined to finish my current read before the year is out. Despite everything, 2016 was a good year for reading. I may not have kept track of my reading tallies for the last few years but I’ve definitely upped my game in the reading stakes.

In a year filled with so many great releases, and a list of books from years gone by to complete, I was never short of reading material that’s for sure.

So let’s get straight down to it!

The Best Books I Read in 2016. (not necessarily released in 2016 though).
They are in no particular order – and there are 7 because that is the most magical number, of course.

  1. Nevernight – Jay Kristoff
  2. Crooked Kingdom – Leigh Bardugo
  3. Illuminae – Jay Kristoff and Amy Kaufman
  4. Empire of Storms – Sarah J. Maas
  5. A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J. Maas
  6. The Long Way To A Small Angry Planet – Becky Chambers
  7. A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

The Worst Books I Read in 2016. (not necessarily released in 2016 though).

  1. The Glittering Court – Richelle Mead
  2. The Museum of Heartbreak – Meg Leder
  3. The Last Star – Rick Yancey
  4. Maestra – L.S Hinton
  5.  Snuff – Chuck Palahniuk

It’s not to say these books are inherently bad – they may be some people’s favourite and I would never say that I was right and they were wrong, I just didn’t enjoy these books, some of them – at all. They all had one good thing about them, or else I would not have finished them. However, they just were not my cup of tea, so to speak.

Katy’s 2016

On a personal level, as I stated, was a pretty decent year. I and my boyfriend went on our first holiday together to Turkey – which I did a post about.
I finally, finally left my job of seven years at my local cinema chain after being unhappy for longer than I’d like to admit. After it being my only job for so long, I was admittedly a bit too comfortable, too safe and stayed longer than I should’ve. Thankfully, I am a lot happier in my new job, I’ve been welcomed in by a great group of people and the change was so much easier than my mind had built it up to be.
I also had many an excellent adventure with my friends and I couldn’t be more thankful for them.

And as an bit of an Instagram obsessive, here is my Instagram Top 9 to summarise.

2016 is probably not going to be remembered in a positive way, however, I will definitely be remembering the high points, both personal or not and moving forward from the low ones – not have it weigh me down as we all try to start anew. Refreshed. I know I’m one of many who says the same every year. It’s not quite the new year, new me cliché, I’m not going to go that far! Just, a nice place to start making myself and my life better, piece by piece.

How was everyone’s 2016? Hope despite the goings-on in the world that you did manage to have a good year, and I especially hope that 2017 is wonderful for you.

Happy New Year!

Katy. xx

 

2 thoughts on “2016: A year in review.

Leave a Reply

