A review: Milk and Honey – Rupi Kaur

I am not an avid poetry reader, I’m not a casual poetry reader. I rarely, if ever, will pick up a poetry book. It’s not that I actively dislike poetry, just when I find myself perusing the shelves for a new book to buy, I never think of heading into poetry. I own a grand total of two poetry books – this one included. But upon reading this book, I am definitely, wholeheartedly, going to be purchasing more.

I spotted this whilst browsing around at work. I was technically working too, it’s always helpful to know your stock! So as I quickly flicked through this particular book, it grabbed me almost instantly, with just a few words on a page. It catapulted itself straight to the top of my to-buy list, and boy did I buy it fast.

Milk and Honey is written by Rupi Kaur and is set in four chapters; the hurting, the loving, the breaking, the healing. It’s a journey through this person’s life, and an unflinchingly honest insight at that.


Honestly, I’m not much of a poetry connoisseur, I can only tell what this little book made me feel, and it made me feel so much. In some places, the hurt was so raw, so real that I felt it in my own heart. I personally, could relate to some and not to others, but as it based of her own personal experiences that completely to be expected, but even those I could personally relate too, were still so honest that some just felt like a sucker-punch to the stomach.

I can’t really review much of the poems, as they truly need to be experienced, as that is what this book felt like to me, an experience. A journey through the mind of Rupi Kaur, a journey that is accompanied by the authors own illustrations that truly seem to emphasise the emotion she felt whilst writing the poem and the meaning behind it.
These added illustrations really brought this to life for me. The rough edges and escaping lines only exist to add to the feelings behind the words on the page.

This is probably the shortest review I’ll write on this blog, being as it’s my first poetry review and therefore inexperienced and simply because the book is a wave you have to ride, rather than one you watch from the side-lines. I can wholeheartedly say that I will be re-reading this book incredibly frequently, simply because once is not enough.

Although in some places I wish some could’ve been longer, I think that would’ve taken away from the meaning of it, it wouldn’t be so truthful. Poetry can and will take many forms as it is and this is her specific formulae. And my oh my does it work for her.

Have you read Milk and Honey, what are your thoughts? Are there any poetry books you’d recommend to a newbie like me?

 

7 thoughts on “A review: Milk and Honey – Rupi Kaur

  1. I too am not an avid poetry reader in that I don’t buy poetry books but I do like the occasional poem online. I’ve heard a lot of great things about Milk and Honey and will definitely check it out after this review. I adore Erin Hanson’s poetry and she has a few books out, none of which I’ve purchased but she has most of her poems on her tumblr (thepoeticunderground) and they’re magical.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

