T5W #1: Polarizing books.

Welcome to my first ever Top 5 Wednesday post! For 2017 I decided to wanted to be more active in the blogging community as a whole and get involved more – so whilst looking around Goodreads and reading through your wonderful blogs, I saw Top 5 Wednesday and figured this was the perfect starting point!

Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group now run by Samantha at Thoughts On Tomes. Where you are given a topic to post about every Wednesday; simple. You can find the link to the Goodreads group here.

This weeks topic is: Favourite Polarizing Books; the books that people either tend to love or hate – with no in-between.

Looking For Alaska – John Green

John Green himself, is quite the polarizing man. I have never really looked into this and have kept myself clear of it all, but I’ve read quite the few arguments. However, at the point in my life that I read Looking For Alaska for the first time; it hit me like a sucker-punch to the stomach. I can’t remember my exact thoughts, just the emotion I felt. And every time since that I’ve read that book, I remember that feeling.

Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas

Fantasy is not for everyone. Throne of Glass and the rest of its series seems to divide a lot of readers. I stay away from the debates as my love is that, mine. It’s not everybody else’s opinion and that’s okay too.

Harry Potter – J. K. Rowling

Although the concept is strange and unfathomable to me, some people, do not like Harry Potter. They have never read a book, or watched a film. They are so vehemently against the idea of Harry Potter. I will never comprehend on this on.

The Inheritance Cycle – Christopher Paolini

I can happily admit that this fantasy series is not for everyone, you can easily tell it’s been inspired by a few other fantasy series that are more popular (Lord of the Rings) and it does have some eerie similarities. But, I enjoyed this series the first time I rad it and although I haven’t gone back, my fondness has not faded.

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea – April Genevieve Tulcholke

I think this might be the most polarizing book this list, and I can completely understand why too. It’s a very strange book, that is eerie and gothic and the characters are polarizing in themselves. I just found a sort of poetic-ness about it that I loved.

So there are my picks for my first ever Top 5 Wednesday! I can’t wait to read your picks.

 

5 thoughts on “T5W #1: Polarizing books.

  1. thebookprophet says:

    I also don’t understand people that don’t like Harry Potter. It’s unfathomable to me to see that. I think the same about John Green. You either love his work or hate it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hopewellslibraryoflife says:

    I live in the Bible Belt so I’m used to people exploding their heads over Harry Potter and witchcraft and magic and and and and. I loved the first book. The second was good, but then I began to lose interest. I made it thru book 5. I’ve seen all but the last two movies. I don’t get why something that is clearly made up is so problematic. Maybe because Game of Thrones isn’t on their radar what with Fifty Shades of Everything blocking the view? lol Looking for Alaska is so darned good. I totally understand the emotional impact of it for you. That’s what I loved about it. Fault in Our Stars is the “sweet” one. Alaska is the noir side. Love his writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

