A review: We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

This book has been sat on my TBR pile for the longest time, I tried to read it on a flight about 4 years ago and I just couldn’t get into the rhythm. So, back to the shelf it went until I forgot about it long enough to make another attempt at reading it. Fast forward and here I am!

We Were Liars is about a group of 4 teenagers known affectionately by their family as the Liars. We follow Cadence as she unravels the mystery of summer fifteen. A summer full of mystery, love, and adventure.

This review does not contain spoilers.

This book took a long while for me to get into, as I stated above the first time around, and it took me just as long this time around. Considering that this is not that long a book at just under 250 pages, that’s not the best start. I just couldn’t get to grips with the writing style I think. It’s very fast paced – and although I understand that it may be set out that way to follow the incoherent thought process that humans actually have – it just wasn’t for me, so it took me awhile to get used too.

Once I’d gotten into the rhythm, I next had to get over my dislike for most of the characters. Again, a lot of them were intentionally unlikable, however, the 4 main ‘Liars’ I had a lot of gripes with and I couldn’t get past their attitudes and behaviours. A lot of the time I couldn’t relate to the scenarios they found themselves in and their then course of action. I couldn’t empathise with these characters, and for the most part, I didn’t like them either. Each had redeeming qualities, sure, but for the majority, they’re not for me.
Thankfully, this book very much picked up the plot, the characters and the overall atmosphere by the time we reach the 2nd half of the book. It was partially like reading a completely different book – everything became more complex and it felt like I had picked up the thriller it had been marketed as. Now, I finally got into the book, had the book been any longer I may not have made it far enough to realise how good it became at this point. Honestly, I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads purely for this part of the book alone, it became emotional, intense and a complete page-turner.

If you’ve read this book, the plot twist, the end reveal makes this read entirely worth it. I just did not see it coming at all, the few scenarios that were running through my head were completely wrong. It has been awhile since a book plot twist had taken me by such surprise! It completely subverted my expectations of the book.
Although the ending doesn’t necessarily make-up – for me- the rest of the book, it did make me think and change certain aspects of the book overall. I like that the book encouraged me to think about it, and re-evaluate my opinions after I’d finished.

Overall, even though it was quite the slow-burn of a novel, I did eventually enjoy myself and would definitely recommend this book to people, especially those who enjoy one with a twist!
Have you read We Were Liars – what were your thoughts?

6 thoughts on “A review: We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

  1. Between the Pages says:

    I actually have read this! I can agree with you that some of the characters were a bit unlikable. I always got very frustrated with Cadence when she was giving all of her belongings away. Besides that though, overall I did enjoy this novel very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kester (from LILbooKlovers) says:

    I read this book, too! I would honestly not like this book if it weren’t for the ending. It blew my mind! I think that the author could have done a better way of writing the story, which was still clever, but it felt choppy and confusing at times. It got an 8 out of 10 stars since the ending pretty much regained a few stars back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

