T5W #4: Books trends you’re tired of

We all have them, book trends that makes our eyes roll and roll and roll. This week’s top 5 Wednesday is  all about them.
I don’t think I’ve ever found a topic so easy! The biggest challenge was narrowing it down.

Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group now run by Samantha at Thoughts On Tomes. Where you are given a topic to post about every Wednesday; simple. You can find the link to the Goodreads group here.

Let’s get down to it!

  1. The later release of a paperback

    It’s so hard when you’ve already waited so long for the release of a book, to then have to wait even longer to get it in paperback. I can understand the need for profit, etc, but if I have the first one, two or few in that series in paperback, I’m not going to get the next in hardback. I might even just prefer to have it in paperback – they’re much easier to carry around. It’s just so frustrating.

  2. The love triangle trope

    Just no. Stop it. It rarely ever improves the story and it usually takes far, far too long to resolve. Just NO.

  3. Faces on the cover

    99% of the time – this cheapens the cover. I know a lot of readers that like to create their own image of what a character looks like in their mind – and this can definitely dampen it. I also just think it very rarely ever looks good. I personally tend to veer away from books with faces on them.

  4. Cover re-issuing

    W-H-Y-? Especially mid-series. Stop trying to take all my money – I don’t have any! I have rent and bills and food and I don’t have any left for such shenanigans.

  5. The insta-love trope

    Real life does not work that way. How is this still a thing I have to read about and get mad over. Honestly.

I got a tad ranty there, oops! What are some of your biggest bookish pet peeves?

9 thoughts on “T5W #4: Books trends you’re tired of

  1. Ugh, I hate faces on the cover! Sometimes it works out fine, but most of the time (especially in YA) it completely turns me off. Even worse, when I finally break down and read the book and the characters are nothing like that cover image!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with the paperback one, it drives me nuts. Especially if I have little funds to spend on books!
    I hate the Love Triangle. HATE HATE HATE IT! It’s even worse when you fall on the losing side!
    The faces on the cover is either a hit or miss for me. I agree it does sometimes cheapen the book cover and makes it look cheesy.
    Mid series cover changes are the worst. The paperback covers of the Winner’s Trilogy are terrible in my opinion! Just let the beautiful covers be!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

