T5W #8: Books you felt betrayed by.

Now, I’m definitely using the term betrayed in the loosest of manners for this post – by that, I’m basically redefining the word to be quite frank, to mean more akin to being let down by, simply because I’ve never truly felt all that betrayed, but maybe that’s just me!

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday is in collaboration with the BookTubeSFF Awards. And, as always, Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group now run by Samantha at Thoughts On Tomes. Where you are given a topic to post about every Wednesday; simple. You can find the link to the Goodreads group here.

Let’s go!

O N E – The Delirium trilogy – Lauren Oliver 

This trilogy has such a promising beginning, the first book set it up beautifully and had such a dramatic ending that I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the other two. Unfortunately, I didn’t like how the story progressed and really disagreed with the characters directions. I really was saddened after such an excellent start, what a shame.

T W O – The Worldwalker Trilogy – Josephine Angelini 

As much as I did at least enjoy all three books in this trilogy, I felt the actions of the MC, Lily, got quite out of character in the end and the same could be said of her main love interest, Rowan, as well. Also, I felt like there was so much to be explored in this universe and we only got a glimpse at some of it.

T H R E E – The Last Star – Rick Yancey 

The first book in the trilogy, The 5th Wave, started off so strongly! It was genuinely exciting and had me gripped right from the get go. The second book wasn’t as great, not by a long shot, but I enjoyed it well enough and assumed it was a building block to an explosive finale. NOPE! What a load of nonsense, it was very much one of the most disappointing endings I’ve ever read.

F O U R – Allegiant – Veronica Roth

Another disappointing ending to a promising trilogy. Both, Divergent and Insurgent were quite enjoyable and the highlight of the books was definitely the characters, yet in the last book, everyone felt quite out of character, (seeing a trend here?!)  especially Tris. I felt very let down by all of it.

F I V E – The Catcher In The Rye – J. D. Salinger

Honestly, this is regarded as a classic by many, this highly revered novel really hit a bum note with me. There are so many aspects that missed the mark with me, that I don’t really understand what everyone finds so wonderful about it. Maybe I just need to re-read it now I’m a bit older, maybe its meaning just went straight over my head. Who knows, but each to their own, and all that!

What book ‘betrayed’ you? Is it on this list? Let’s talk.

 

2 thoughts on “T5W #8: Books you felt betrayed by.

  1. I admittedly haven’t read The Catcher in the Rye yet, but I’ve been planning to for awhile. And of course Allegiant (what would this list be without it, honestly?) I never finished the Fifth Wave series, although I agreeably thought the first book was good! There are sooo many trilogys that I don’t finish, if the first book isn’t outstanding lol, it’s bad 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

