T5W #13: Favourite LGBTQ+ reads

Back at it again, with the Top 5 Wednesday, this week focusing on our top 5 favourite LGBTQ+ reads, whether the author identifies, whether the main character identifies, whether the side characters identifies.

Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group now run by Samantha at Thoughts On Tomes. Where you are given a topic to post about every Wednesday; simple. You can find the link to the Goodreads group here.

So, shall we begin?

I’ve decided to narrow down my list to those books that I love that include characters that identify as LGBQT+!

O N E – The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli 

Only, one of the most diverse books I’ve read in recent memory. I cannot recommend this book enough. The representation of all is done so eloquently and excellently that I cannot stop raving about this book.

T W O – The Long Way To A Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers 

This book was one of my favourites of last year, and one of my favourites of all time. I loved all the relationships in this book. The variant characters and even species in this novel are all so well thought out and developed.

T H R E E – The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky

But who didn’t love Patrick? He was witty and egotistical, and caring and fragile. Patrick was a highlight of the book and the film for me.

F O U R – Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo

Because Jesper and Wylan were wonderful both together and apart. Jesper the gun-sure gambler with a soft spot for the newcomer explosives expert. Honestly, every interaction they shared had me squealing with delight!

F I V E  – Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

You know. I can’t spoil it for those who haven’t read it. But, you know.

2 thoughts on “T5W #13: Favourite LGBTQ+ reads

  1. Candid Cover says:

    I loved The Upside of Unrequited and I think that it is the perfect choice! I really need to read The Perks of Being a Wallflower and so many other books you have listed here. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

