A review: Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon

Ah, yet another book that had been on my radar for so long. Everything, Everything had been widely raved about, on blogs, on twitter, on Instagram, everywhere. I picked up a couple of months ago as part of a 2 for £7 deal at my local supermarket, and it kept being my next-to-read, yet more and more books kept getting released and bumping it again.
Finally, I got round to it. And boy, am I so glad I finally read it. I devoured this book in one night, it was such a wonderful read.

Goodreads Synopsis

EEMy disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

This review contain no spoilers, as ever!

Everything, Everything is such a lovely read, clocking in at just around 300 pages, it’s a book that sucked me in from the very beginning and did not let go until long after I’d finished it. It was an emotional rollercoaster that twisted and turned you inside out.
As we follow Maddy through self-discovery, actual real-life discovery and first love, the author leads us down a path that has us looking at the world a little differently. As Maddy is housebound, she cannot experience life as we do, the little things that we take for granted, are wondrous happenings for Maddy. I found it really re-ignited my attitude towards life in general.

I found Maddy a great character to follow, I wouldn’t call her naive, just sheltered (obviously), so reading her discovering new things is so interesting. Her progression through the book is incredible, coming out the other side a totally different person, and we get to grow with her, understand with her, discover with her.
A great aspect of this book is Maddy’s love of books, especially The Little Prince, she feels about this as we do about certain books that we read at certain points of our lives. That the books meaning changes with you, and I’d always felt that way, but I’d never seen it written down so plainly. It really spoke to me, and that made me fall in love with this book just that little bit more.

Sure, this book suffers a tad from a case of insta-love between Maddy and Olly, it was definitely described as more than an attraction, and although that slightly annoyed me, I could see definite build afterwards, so it definitely softened me towards them. It makes sense, in a way, that she would fall so deeply for the first real boy she had any form of connection with. However, I found it didn’t detract from the story, though I feared it would. It actually helped the story along in a believable manner, and I actually found myself getting really attached to them as a couple. Their personalities really meshed and I loved them together and apart, I thought the author really built them well.

If I were to gripe about one thing it would be the final twist we come across in the book, this review is no spoilers so I won’t focus on it for long. However, I felt that it somewhat took away from the story. It wasn’t properly acknowledged in my opinion. The whole last segment just felt very rushed, especially when I could see how much of the book I didn’t have left. I feel it definitely should’ve been expanded upon, it felt like the most impactful part of the story, especially for Maddy and it felt incredibly glossed over. Thankfully, this was the only real problem that I had with this book, which is otherwise, a wonderful read.

Everything, Everything; what a ride it was. It made me feel such a spectrum of emotions and I would really recommend this gem to everyone!

Have you read Everything, Everything? What were your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

